Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

hearing a "water" noise...

Search this Thread

Old May 6th, 2009, 7:26 AM
CF Junior Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hearing a "water" noise...

kind of a vague question here...but many mornings as I'm leaving for work when I accelerate I hear the sound of water sloshing around from my passenger area...basically in front of the glove box. I haven't poked around yet to see what this maybe, but I'm new to the full size pickup world...any ideas what this could be?

Sorry for the vague details...
Old May 6th, 2009, 8:13 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Only thing I can think of would be the gas tank, coolant reservoir, washer fluid reso., or the heater core. I can't imagine the heater core would be sloshing, but I guess it could be possible you are hearing that. Is the passenger floor wet at all?
Old May 6th, 2009, 11:55 AM
CF Active Member

i have heard this before if your low on coolant yes it can make funny sounds like sloshing in the heater core... but it could very well be the coolant overflow... like the last guy said..
Old May 6th, 2009, 2:37 PM
CF Junior Member

hmmm...I'll check the coolant overflow bottle as well as my radiator. And nope...the passenger floor isn't wet.

Thanks for the starting points!
Old May 6th, 2009, 2:47 PM
CF Junior Member

I have a 2000 blazer and it did the same thing, I then proceeded to pay a shop to replace my clogged heater core and had to replace my intake gasket, watch your temp gauge and heat depending where you live, does it only do it while accelerating?
Old May 6th, 2009, 3:07 PM
Banned

Replacing a heater core is a pain on any car and even worse on some. You should try to flush it before replacing it.