Notices
Silverado & Fullsize Pick-ups The Silverado has been one of the best selling trucks in the US for decades, and is truly proven to be "like a rock".

2014 Chevy Silverado
Platform: Truck, GMT 400, 800, & 900

Ignition/Starter Problem 1999 Silverado

Old June 26th, 2010, 10:30 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ignition/Starter Problem 1999 Silverado

Hey guys I need some help, I am by no means a mechanic and need some help diagnosing a problem that I have been having off and on with my truck. When I start my truck in neutral and park the starter stays engaged but when moved into drive, reverse, 1, 2, 3 it shuts off. I can even put my truck in Park and pull the key and it still tries to start????I have had it at a dealership for a week one time and they couldn't find anything wrong with it. They just said it could be the ignition system.The really weird thing is that it does it for a week solid and then has quit for like over a year at times. But it finally is driving me nuts and I need to know if it is the ignition switch, or maybe just a short in the column. Another thing that might be related is that the horn has shorted out also. If you guys can comment and let me know possible diagnosis or any other things would be greatly appreciated. Trying to keep it as low cost as possible. Thanks

Last edited by nisaac24; June 27th, 2010 at 12:30 AM.
Old June 27th, 2010, 11:35 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

so if i understand right, after the truck is already running, the starter is still turning? check for any broken or halfway chewed wires.
Old June 27th, 2010, 4:09 PM
CF Beginner