Uplander 2005-2009
This sport-van offers a sporty feel and roomy interior, all in the body of a minivan.
Platform: U-Body

Rear wiper motor

Search this Thread

Old November 29th, 2010, 9:59 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Rear wiper motor

Hey, sorry if this has been discussed. I am having trouble finding any solutions.

My rear wiper motor quit on me, I checked the fuse. It was still good so I assumed that it was the motor I replaced it with a new one and nothing is working still. I have checked the Hinge wiring harness for any cracks or wires frailed and I see nothing. I am at a total loss on this POC vehicle! nothing but repairs!

If anyone has a solution PLEASE feel free to respond and help me! It would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks again in advance!

Forgot to mention, this is an 05 uplander!

Last edited by Gallexy; November 29th, 2010 at 10:01 PM. Reason: forgot year of vehicle
Old November 30th, 2010, 7:48 AM
CF Junior Member

I am not a mechanic. However, check to see if there is power flowing to the connections for the motor itself. You will need a "tester gadget" to do the check.

I have an 2005 as well and I have replaced the rear wiper motor during the 4th year. When speaking with a mechanic who did the replacement on my vehicle, he said it is rather common to replace rear wiper motors on any make of vehicle. This is especially true when people leave the wiper running on dry glass for extended periods of time or if turned on when the blade is frozen to the glass. Said that the rear wiper motor is not as robust and built to endure like the front wiper mechanism is designed.

Now I am particularly wary about how I use the rear wiper.

Oh yeah, when I replaced the wiper motor on my van it was about $100 for the wiper motor and $50 for a 1/2 hour of labor, which I thought was reasonable.
Old November 30th, 2010, 9:53 AM
CF Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Check at motor plug for power, could be a switch.