Notices
General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non-specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here. IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFIC TO A CERTAIN MODEL, IT DOES NOT GO IN THIS SECTION.
View Poll Results: Does your car lunge forward when started?
Yes
40.00%
No
60.00%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Car lunges forward when started

Search this Thread

Old May 24th, 2011, 11:11 PM
CF Beginner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Car lunges forward when started

I have a 2008 Chevy Impala LT (4 door, FWD) that recently has started to intermittenly lunge forward when started. The car is in park and it does this sometimes when I use the remote starter or manually start it up. I purchased this car new and it did not do this the first two years that I owned it. GM has a service bulleting out that claims this is normal and they recommend that one always use the parking brake. I do not believe this a normal as I have been driving for 50 years and have never had a car do this before. They say that there is no need to fix this problem.

My son thinks it is a transmission problem which is my opinion also. Or could it be the powertrain control module that is faulty? Has anyone else had this problem? If so, were you able to get it fixed?
Old May 25th, 2011, 8:29 AM
Official GM Rep

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by elpost
I have a 2008 Chevy Impala LT (4 door, FWD) that recently has started to intermittenly lunge forward when started. The car is in park and it does this sometimes when I use the remote starter or manually start it up. I purchased this car new and it did not do this the first two years that I owned it. GM has a service bulleting out that claims this is normal and they recommend that one always use the parking brake. I do not believe this a normal as I have been driving for 50 years and have never had a car do this before. They say that there is no need to fix this problem.